Adele 21 CD 2011


SKU: 15737793

Adele's 2009 debut album, 19, was a Grammy-winning smash hit that revealed the British singer/songwriter's knack for bittersweet soul and folk-infused love songs that brought to mind an infectious mix of Dusty Springfield and Terry Callier. The album earned her a ton of fans, and interest was high for the inevitable follow-up. In many ways, her sophomore album, the similarly age-appropriate-titled 21, is a continuation of the sounds and themes Adele was working with on 19. She is still the bluesy pop diva with a singer/songwriter's soul and seemingly bottomless capacity for heartbreak. The best thing the album does is to showcase Adele's titanic vocal ability, which -- more than a few times on 21 -- is simply spine-tingling. Last time around we got the gauzy, Callier-esque folk-soul ballad "Daydreamer" to slowly draw us into the album; here, Adele immediately injects us with the propulsive gospel fever-blues anthem "Rolling in the Deep." While the track certainly owes a heavy debt to the punk-blues of Beth Ditto and the Gossip, it is also ridiculously sexy and one of the best singles of any decade. Elsewhere, we get tracks like the blues-inflected Ryan Tedder co-write "Rumour Has It" and the old-school-style soul cut "He Won't Go," which are terrifically catchy, booty-shaking numbers and exactly the kind of songs you want and expect from Adele. Similarly enthralling is the centerpiece of the album, the mega-ballad showstopper "Take It All." Co-written by her "Chasing Pavements" partner Francis White, the song begins with Adele proclaiming "Didn't I give it all?" Delivered starkly at first with Adele set against simple piano accompaniment and later backed by a gospel choir, it's an instant-classic sort of song in the tradition of "The Rose," "And I Am Telling You I Am Not Going," and "All by Myself" that could stand over the years as a career landmark for the singer and a cathartic moment for fans who identify with their idol's Pyrrhic lovelorn persona. Ultimately, Adele does give us her all on 21, and for now that is enough. ~ Matt Collar, Rovi
此版本獨家收錄〈If It Hadn't Been For Love〉〈Hiding My Heart〉兩首翻唱曲

陰錯陽差闖進樂壇的19歲女孩,從BBC「Sound Of 2008」榜首,歐陸指標性水星音樂獎,一路闖進大西洋彼岸的葛萊美殿堂抱回「最佳新人」、「最佳流行女歌手」兩項大獎,全球超過三百萬的銷售佳績,讓原本恐懼飛行的她,也不得不踏上似乎永無止盡的巡迴旅程。

然而,《19》那段對一個少女來說已經近乎不可思議的夢幻經歷,如今看來卻僅是試探性的小試身手,2011年登場《21》,才是Adele創作與表演能量的全然綻放,挾著更強大的製作班底,徹底舒展遊走R&B、靈魂、藍調與福音之間的愛情記事,年初發行至今已蟬聯英國17周、美國10周冠軍的輝煌紀錄,締造〈Rolling In The Deep〉(美國告示牌7週冠軍)和〈Someone Like You〉(英國榜4週冠軍)兩支百萬暢銷單曲,全球直逼八百萬張的銷售紀錄,壓倒Lady Gaga、Beyoncé等備受矚目的焦點天碟,穩居2011年度銷售后座。

《21》除了邀來Jim Abbiss(Arctic Monkeys)再度坐鎮外,更有時代雜誌「全球百大影響力人物」傳奇製作人Rick Rubin(U2、Green Day)與英倫新秀Paul Epworth(Cee-Lo Green、Bloc Party)共同加持,〈Rolling In The Deep〉澎湃的藍調福音神采,OneRepublic主唱Ryan Tedder助陣的〈Rumour Has It〉交融搖滾與福音的獨特流行風韻,〈Turning Tables〉悽楚琴音和柔美弦樂旋畫出的傷感情韻,〈Don't You Remember〉的鄉村民謠氣息,以及重新賦予The Cure名作〈Lovesong〉的清新吉他氣質,Adele皆一再以純熟超齡的完美詮釋,訴說著關於蝕骨情愛的百般糾結。

此特別版獨家收錄〈If It Hadn't Been For Love〉、〈Hiding My Heart〉兩首分別翻唱葛萊美提名草根藍調樂隊The SteelDrivers與民謠女伶Brandi Carlile作品之現場版。
  1. Rolling in the Deep
  2. Rumour Has It
  3. Turning Tables
  4. Don't You Remember
  5. Set Fire to the Rain
  6. He Won't Go
  7. Take It All
  8. I'll Be Waiting
  9. One and Only
  10. Lovesong
  11. Someone Like You
Release Date: 22 Feb 2011 

More Categories